top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLC

Adoption

Don't worry, dear reader, adoption fears still feature in my life. They are real and present, but actually, thanks to everything else I have faced in the past two years, they are smaller. And because of everything that has happened, it's not my biggest worry (all the time) and that is a very healthy place to be, for all of us. In all reality, our amazing daughter is what kept me going. I had to get up in the morning and care for her, be there for her. Even though when we were in the eye of the storm I yearned to have less responsibility, I do fear what wouldn't have happened if I didn't have motherhood as a tether to reality. What would've happened to me, what would've happened to my relationship?

With our daughter, the fears always have an adoption-flavoured twinge to them, but mostly they feel like typical parenting fears and anxieties.

And by and large, with her, it's not fear I feel - it's love, amazement and joy. (Along with frustration, anger and exasperation of course!) But she is an incredible girl, with empathy and emotional understanding way beyond her years, a very cheeky sense of humour and a wonderful mix of bravery and cautiousness. She makes me smile every day, even on the more....dramatic days. As she embarks on a new chapter, I look forward to learning from her cool extrovertedness and confidence. This girl is going to be just fine and so is her Mommy.


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

An engaging title, they say

So the blog template suggests I add an engaging title. And what would that be, to reflect my life today, on August 15th 2020? I could do a variety of titles, something like "Two years and five months

Fear | Joy

As I sit here, only a few days away from meeting our little one - our daughter - I cannot help but feel scared. As I've mentioned in a previous post, worries and fear have been a constant companion th

The Panels

Two panels within a month, two completely different experiences. Both successful, both unanimous approvals, yet the feelings during and after each one were completely different. Our approval panel too

bottom of page